Skip to content
North Lanarkshire Counts — North Lanarkshire, in numbers.Local help →

North Lanarkshire, in numbers

People and living standards

North Lanarkshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

North Lanarkshire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 326,900 in 1991 to 343,930 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

North Lanarkshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 322,300 people in 1996; 343,930 people in 2025. 6.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — North Lanarkshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991326,900
1992325,840
1993324,200
1994323,830
1995323,450
1996322,300
1997322,510
1998322,180
1999322,160
2000321,390
2001321,180
2002322,520
2003323,700
2004325,400
2005327,140
2006328,740
2007331,160
2008333,280
2009335,160
2010336,280
2011337,720
2012337,990
2013338,000
2014338,440
2015338,750
2016339,740
2017340,310
2018340,350
2019341,570
2020341,400
2021341,280
2022340,920
2023342,410
2024343,550
2025343,930
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

North Lanarkshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 68,728 people in 1996; 58,923 people in 2025. 14.3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — North Lanarkshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199171,461
199270,883
199370,519
199470,319
199569,705
199668,728
199768,222
199867,588
199967,193
200066,480
200165,466
200265,198
200364,921
200464,643
200564,624
200664,474
200764,681
200864,672
200964,850
201064,764
201164,747
201264,304
201363,713
201463,278
201562,830
201662,717
201762,426
201862,118
201962,068
202061,288
202160,840
202260,081
202359,864
202459,644
202558,923
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

North Lanarkshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 210,698 people in 1996; 220,146 people in 2025. 4.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — North Lanarkshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991213,626
1992212,901
1993211,557
1994211,152
1995210,997
1996210,698
1997211,150
1998211,075
1999211,062
2000210,597
2001211,122
2002212,299
2003213,219
2004214,628
2005215,698
2006217,018
2007218,837
2008220,202
2009220,983
2010221,560
2011222,222
2012221,383
2013220,854
2014220,460
2015220,254
2016220,670
2017220,805
2018220,435
2019220,634
2020220,493
2021220,031
2022219,473
2023219,958
2024220,248
2025220,146
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

North Lanarkshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 42,874 people in 1996; 64,861 people in 2025. 51.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — North Lanarkshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199141,813
199242,056
199342,124
199442,359
199542,748
199642,874
199743,138
199843,517
199943,905
200044,313
200144,592
200245,023
200345,560
200446,129
200546,818
200647,248
200747,642
200848,406
200949,327
201049,956
201150,751
201252,303
201353,433
201454,702
201555,666
201656,353
201757,079
201857,797
201958,868
202059,619
202160,409
202261,366
202362,588
202463,658
202564,861
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 340,993 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · North Lanarkshire · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total327,12695.9%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 17.7% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

North Lanarkshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,660 per person in 1997; £21,381 per person in 2024. 146.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — North Lanarkshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,660
19988,800
19999,167
20009,742
200110,202
200210,558
200310,828
200411,229
200511,617
200611,940
200712,739
200813,268
200913,373
201013,495
201113,678
201214,055
201314,491
201415,208
201515,555
201615,952
201716,076
201816,381
201917,022
202017,110
202117,405
202218,352
202319,810
202421,381
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

North Lanarkshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -18.4% in 1997; -17.7% in 2024. 0.7 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — North Lanarkshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-18.4
1998-18.7
1999-19
2000-18.2
2001-17.5
2002-16.6
2003-16.9
2004-17.3
2005-17.4
2006-18.5
2007-17
2008-15.8
2009-16.5
2010-16.4
2011-16.1
2012-16.8
2013-17.3
2014-15.9
2015-18.2
2016-17.2
2017-18.4
2018-19.7
2019-19.2
2020-18.5
2021-20.3
2022-20.1
2023-19
2024-17.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · North Lanarkshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · North Lanarkshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£159,000

July 2026 · North Lanarkshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

No counts returned for this exact present-day area code in the 2011 census table. Older boundaries have not been reassigned by name or population share.

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.